Garlic Beet Greens

25 07 2010

I grew these! With my bare hands, muahahaha. But really though. The first fruits of labor from a dinky lil’ porch garden are these beet greens. My expectations weren’t high. I imagined grass-like flavors with a stringy, tough stalk. But lo, was I wrong.

I had wanted something light for dinner. The boy and I had been arguing over the phone earlier so my stomach was more in my throat than it’s stomach place. But after sinking back into my own skin, a light dinner with fresh ingredients seemed the perfect fix. So I made these, served with some brown rice & feta and grilled tempeh.

The garlic in this recipe really takes it from good to outstanding. It gets infused into the olive oil and then turns into crispy little garlic nuggets that add wonderful texture to the dense soft greens. Num.

All I can really say is beets > boys.

Garlic Beet Greens

Bunch of beet greens, washed & trimmed
2-3 cloves garlic, sliced
2-3 tbs. olive oil

Place the garlic and olive oil into a cold skillet. Brown the garlic and infuse it into the oil by slowing bringing the heat up. Add the beet greens and toss. Cover and cook for 3-5 minutes.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

