Sweet Potato & Scallion Salad

25 08 2010

The name of this blog originally intended to be Liminal Plates, playing around with the idea that I am in a very liminal space right now, somewhere between college and the “real world”, not really sure where to head. Well, I am still there. There’s a lyric in a Why? song that reads, “What should these earnest hands be holding?” And I find myself asking that a lot of the time. A camera, a spatula, a guitar, a pen. My passions flood me, but ultimately divide my time, leaving me feeling like I’m clutching a buoy for support in this here real world. So who knows where I’ll go. In the meantime, I’ve made sweet potatoes. Try it out. If I made this again, I would half the amount of liquid in the dressing because the veggies are drowning in it (pardon my nautical theme-age). But it’s still delicious.

Sweet Potato & Scallion Salad
Adapted from Bobby Flay

4 large sweet potatoes, par-cooked & cut into 1/2-inch slices
8 scallions
1/2 red onion, sliced into moons
1 avocado, cut into chunks
3/4 cup olive oil, divided
2 tbs. Dijon mustard
1/2 cup cider vinegar (I’d cut this in half)
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
2 tsps. honey (I used agave nectar. Any sweetener will suffice)
Salt and freshly ground pepper
1/4 cup coarsley chopped flat-leaf parsley

Preheat grill to high. (Note: I used my oven’s broiler because it was pouring outside). Brush potatoes and scallions with oil and arrange on grill. Grill potatoes for 3-4 minutes on each side, or until tender. Grill scallions until softened and marked.
In a large bowl, whisk together the 1/2 cup olive oil (or less), mustard, vinegars, and honey. Season with salt and pepper. Add potatoes, scallions, red onion, avocado and parsley. Toss until everything is well coated.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

