Banana Almond-Butter Muffins

7 10 2010

I’m impartial to muffins. Really, I don’t care. Maybe because I was raised in a house where muffins appeared twice a year, if we’re lucky, in blueberry form, from a pouch of muffin mix. We don’t celebrate the muffin or sing the muffin electric. So I do believe, this may have been the first time that I’ve ever had the inclination to say out loud at around 10 pm on a Monday night, “Hey! … I’m gonna bake some muffins.”

I browsed through one of my favorite food sites, eat me, delicious and found something with ingredients I had and something sort of autumn-y; Banana Peanut Butter Muffins. I changed the recipe around a little bit and used almond butter instead, threw in some chopped walnuts, and some ground golden flaxseed, just because it was there. I baked them, and I guess I can say, I’m still not celebrating muffin-dom. It’s going to take a whole lot more baking to make me feel at ease with them, but I like these. They’re not too sweet, which makes them more accessible. I feel good and healthy when I eat one for breakfast or snatch one up as a snack before work. A good rustic muffin. I’m satisfied 🙂

Banana Almond-Butter Oatmeal Muffins
Adapted from eat me, delicious

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup oats
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tbs. vegetable oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 large eggs
3/4 cup mashed banana (about 2 medium-sized bananas)
1/2 cup natural almond butter (or peanut butter)
1 cup buttermilk (or make your own with 1 cup milk and 1 tb. white vinegar)
1 tb. ground flaxseed (optional)
1/3 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 375. Lightly grease a 12-cup muffin tin.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, oatmeal, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In a medium bowl, whisk together vegetable oil, brown sugar, eggs, mashed banana, almond butter, flaxseed, walnuts, and buttermilk until very smooth, making sure all egg has been well-incorporated. Pour into flour mixture and stir until no streaks of flour remain.

Divide batter evenly into prepared muffin tin, filling each just about up to the top.

Bake for 16-20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean and the top springs back when lightly pressed.

Remove muffins from tin and cool on a wire rack.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

