Pumpkin Ale

27 10 2010

It’s Halloween-time. And I’m sorry, but I’m not going to fill my posts with little sugar ghosts or chocolate frosted bats etc etc. Adorable and all, but I have neither the time nor funds. I want to be seasonal, in the evil dead spirit, and make something we can all enjoy. So hey, it’s time for Pumpkin Beer. An amber ale, to be exact.

I bought a kit from Austin Homebrew and jazzed it up a bit. It’s brewed with cinnamon, nutmeg, mace, and orange peel, crystal 60L, and Caramunich and vienna grains. An O.G. of 1.052 and approx. 5.1% ABV.

I doubled up on the spices and added the Roasted Meat from one big ol’ pumpkin. It had a delicious aroma, a decent head, but a bit over-carbonated. Very smooth with a nice crisp finish and the spices just pop. Next time, I would probably have added a couple cans of pumpkin mash for some extra pumpkin flavor, and maybe have let it sit for another week or so. Any crap, I recommend the kit. Next up on the list, a chocolate oatmeal stout.

On a related note, I cannot wait until my friend Ashleigh gets back from Europe. She is my homebrew companion my beer babe sloppy sistah. Ladies who brew, I love youuu. Be prepared for a slew of crazy winter homebrew adventures.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

