Spinach “Ricotta” Balls

17 11 2010

I’m really tired. Like uugghhhh reaaalllly tired. Went for a short hike this weekend in Boylston and picked a couple of ticks off my body piece afterwards. Maybe I have lyme disease. Does that make one tired? I am tired. I made these vegan spinach bawlz. They are good. I’m sorry but I must retire now. 

UPDATE: Hello! Feeling much better now. Well, slightly. Think I managed to pick up a UTI during my adventures this weekend. If anyone has any natural remedies for this that ACTUALLY WORK, I would be interested to hear them. So a little bit about my balls. They are super savory and moist. My dad discovered them in the fridge and couldn’t get over how rich they tasted. Like something he shouldn’t be eating. They are rich, but in a good way. They’re vegan and baked instead of fried. Try making them to go in a sandwich, or they also taste really good on their own with some ketchup.
Here is a nice photo of my boymanfriend Ryan. He is now of the internet.

Spinach “Ricotta” Balls
Adapted from The Uncheese Cookbook

1 package spinach (fresh baby spinach or frozen chopped spinach both work)
2/3 cup Vegan Parmesan (recipe below)

1 package firm tofu, drained & mashed
3/4 cup vegan mayo
1/2 cup cornmeal
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
2 tsps. garlic powder
1 tsp. onion granules
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. ground dill seed
Freshly ground black pepper to taste

Steam the spinach. Drain and set aside.

Preheat oven to 350.

To make the “ricotta” mixture, combine the tofu, mayo, cornmeal, flour, garlic, onion granules, salt, dill seed, and black pepper in a bowl and mix until it becomes thick. Add the spinach and the “Parmesan” and mix well. Form into balls using 2 tbs. mixture for each ball. Place on an oiled baking sheet and bake 40 minutes. If needed, broil for 5 minutes just to brown the tops.

Vegan Parmesan

1 cup nutritional yeast
1/2 cup almonds, blanched and dried (to blanch almonds, place them in enough water to cover. Bring to a boil and simmer for 2 minutes. Drain, then rinse under cold water. Pinch skins between fingers and they should slip off easily)
1/2 tsp. salt

Grind these 3 ingredients up in a food processer. Store in a tightly sealed container in the fridge.

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 11 2010
Ashley

Ooo these sound really good! I’ve been interested in The Uncheese Cookbook but have yet to add it to my collection! One time I blogged about these spinach balls I made (they didn’t have tofu or cheese in them though) and someone else linked back to my post stating that that’s why they never want to be a vegetarian because of things like spinach balls. I thought that was really hilarious hahaha.

30 11 2010
homebrewedandstewed

That’s too funny hah

Leave a Reply

