Portobello Salad with Mustard Dressing

2 12 2010

Sorry for the crappy picture. I’ve been feeling sickly all day, so tripods and f-stops are not on my list of things to deal with now. Started off with trying to exercise not too long after breakfast, wound up saying hey to that breakfast again when we met later, my head in the toilet bowl. Wanted to pass out all evening at work. Came home and just wanted something that would make me feel healthy. Greens. Veggies. Something to grant me living being status and not just a toxic waste dump. So thanks Veganomicon for making me feel whole again.

I changed the dressing to just a plain mustard dressing because I wasn’t ready for the spiciness of the original. This recipe is for a big ol’ salad. When you have company and suches. But you could just do what I did and scale it back for one lonely loser.

Oh and thanks to PanzerBastard and Toxic Holocaust for a great show on Sunday @ Great Scott in Allston. Thrashtastic. Here’s Ashleigh and Victor, acting completly appropriate.

Portobello Salad with Mustard Dressing
Adapted from Veganomicon

Dressing:
1/4 cup mustard (your choice. a spicy stone-ground. Dijon would work well too)
3 tbs. canola oil
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
2 tbs. pure maple syrup

Salad Fixins’:
8 cups mixed greens (Go nuts. I used what I had; romaine & some red cabbage.)
1 avocado, peeled, halved, pitted, and sliced thin
1 small red onion, sliced into thin half-moons
1 can chick-peas, drained & rinsed
1 tomato, diced (or some cherry tomatoes)
Some roasted portobello mushrooms (1 for each person; slather a mushroom in olive oil, soy sauce, salt & pepper, and whatever herbs you have on hand then throw in on a skillet or grill and cook both sides til tender)

Whisk together all the dressing ingredients in a small bowl.
Mix up all the salad ingredients in a large bowl, except the portobello. Pour on the dressing and TOSS.
When ready to serve, place the greens on a plate and top with the sliced portobellos.

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 12 2010
Ash

Oh jesus, that photo

27 05 2012
Antoine Cerda

I will immediately take hold of your rss feed as I can not to find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly let me know so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

