Cinnamon Bread

24 03 2011

Ok. A lot going on. I’m overcoming The Sickness. Though I went through an issue this morning. Does anyone else ever just get fed up with living inside of a body? We are  these enigmatic, enlightened people, but sometimes, just dealing with the complications of living in a bag of flesh can often make us forget our true self and potential. That was me this morning. And after making my boyfriend loathe me just a little bit, I was able to come out the slump.

I picked up this book last week. Beginner’s Bikram Yoga. Yoga has always been something I’ve wanted to do. I think it would help me get out of that mindset of feeling like a meat tub half the time and push my body and mind to exist at their utmost capacity. The book consists of 26 exercises, 24 of which are laughibly difficult to my angry contorted mess of a bod.

But I started! Exercise 1; mainly a breathing exercise that slowly fills your lungs to capacity then releases. After filling up all that unused lung space, I felt tipsy and giddy. Who can’t appreciate an activity that simply through stretching makes you feel like you just knocked back a glass of champagne. I know I’ll never be one of those dinks practicing yoga in the public park, praising the rising sun and turning themselves into a pretzel, but it helps every once in a while to feel more at ease with myself.

And on an even better note. Ben Weasel of my favorite punk band Screeching Weasel done went and punched two women, igniting controvery, destroying the band and pretty much cancelling the event that me and my friend Ashleigh planned on going to Memorial Day weekend in Chicago.

And we wouldn’t have it any other way. Because now we get to jet set out to Las Vegas for the Punk Rock Bowling Tournament! A weekend of bands including, Leftover Crack, The Descendents, Cock Sparrer, Stiff Little Fingers, Citizen Fish and The Dwarves. All of these bands are ones that I would probably fly to Vegas to see on their own. All of them playing together, I really can’t even wrap my mind around it right now.

So to top all of this off with the fact that I just made 2 loaves of cinnamon bread that are so good, I could eat them both in one sitting, life’s pretty rad. The dough is sweet and soft, very comforting and dessert-like. So hell yeah, everything.

Cinnamon Bread
From eat me, delicious

Makes 2 loaves

1/3 cup granulated sugar
1 cup warm water
2 1/2 tsp active dry yeast
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp lemon juice
3 1/4 cups white bread flour (plus more if needed)
1 tsp salt
1/3 cup butter

Filling:
1 cup granulated sugar
1 tbsp cinnamon

In large bowl, dissolve 1 tsp of the sugar in warm water. Sprinkle in yeast; let stand until frothy, about 10 minutes. Whisk in egg, vanilla and lemon juice.

In separate bowl, whisk together 3 1/4 cups of the flour, remaining sugar and salt. Using pastry cutter, cut in butter until in pea-size pieces. Usingw ooden spoon, stir into yeast mixture to form soft dough.

Turn out onto lightly floured surface. Knead, adding as much of the remaining flour as necessary to prevent sticking, until smooth and elastic, about 8 minutes. Place in greased bowl, turning to grease all over. Cover with plastic wrap; let rise in warm place until doubled in bulk, about 1 hour.

Grease two 8×4 inch loaf pans; set aside.

Punch down dough. Divide in half. On lightly floured surface, roll each half out into 14×8 inch (35×20 cm) rectangle. Brush with 2 tbsp water, leaving 1 inch border along 1 short end.

Filling: In small bowl, whisk sugar with cinnamon; sprinkle half over each rectangle. Starting at short end without border, roll up jelly roll-style; pinch seams to seal. Fit, seam sides down, into prepared pans. Cover with clean tea towel and let rise in warm place until doubled in bulk, about 1 hour.

Bake in centre of 375F oven until deep brown and loaves sound hollow when tapped on bottoms, 25 to 30 minutes. Transfer to racks; let cool.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

