Bloody Mary Tomato Salad

25 07 2011

Ignore the steak slapped on top of this crappy photo. I misplaced my cameras memory card in the move from Falmouth to my parents house (It’s temporary, I swears.) and the only decent image that came out from my phone was the boyfriends meaty portion.

I’ve been putting off writing this blog for the past hour because the second I typed “Bloody Mary” into the subject line, my brain sidetracked and went all out looking up Bloody Mary recipes. Bookmarking tons of them. Making note of restaurants nearby who claim to have the best. Give me all of them. Spiced with srichacha, stuffed with olives, glasses rimmed with Old Bay, garnished with delicatly carved jalapenos, lemons, limes, pickles, cheese, I don’t care. Give me! So this is the first, but definitely not the last, post based on my favorite drink of all time.

I pretty much doubled the amount of seasonings in this recipe to give it that familiar kick. You can always use less horseradish and hot sauce if it ain’t yo thang. Or you can just make me proud and make it your thang. I ate this with some homemade grilled seitan on top. The savory seitan juices blending into the tomato goodness were probably one of the best things I’ve tasted this summer.

Bloody Mary Tomato Salad
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

1 cup chopped red onion
3 tbs. red wine vinegar
2 lbs. cherry tomatoes, halved
1 cup chopped celery hearts (inner stalks and leaves)
1/2 cup green olives, chopped, plus 2 tbs. reserved brine
3 tbs. prepared horseradish
1 tb. Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp. hot sauce
1/2 tsp. celery seed
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper

Pour one tablespoon of the red wine vinegar over the onions in the bottom of a large bowl. Let sit for 10 minutes to help temper the onions bite. Add the tomatoes, celery and olives. Whisk together the remaining 2 tablespoons vinegar, olive brine, horseradish, Worcestershire, hot sauce and celery seed in a medium bowl. Slowly drizzle in the olive oil, whisking constantly until combined. Pour over tomatoes, add salt and pepper to taste, toss to coat. Refridgerate until ready to eat.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

