Red Potato Salad with Dill & Mustard

9 05 2012

It’s been about three months since we had to put my dog Zach down. It’s weird even referring to him as a dog. He was my life mate. Through Beanie Babies, puberty, punk rock, college, boyfriends, jobs, through everything I’ve ever gone through since I was 11 years old, I’d talk it all out with Zach. And now that he’s gone, life is just weird.

Apparently it’s kitten season on Facebook, because everyone and their mother has been finding a need to post new cat pictures. It’s making me really sad and anxious to find a new animal friend. I’m starting to get a little too attached to other peoples pets

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ryan and I are going to start looking for our own place once I get back from THIS. And then I will finally be able to get the kitty I’ve always dreamed of. The kitty OR TWO I’ve always dreamed of. And then life will begin to fall into place. Cats do that. But until then, I’ll still have Zach with me until my end of days.

I made this potato salad a few weeks back with a kale and ricotta frittata. All together, it was like a grown-up version of breakfast-for-dinner. I love different spins on potato salad, as well as anything covered in a mustard sauce so this recipe definitely fit the bill. Serve warm and try pairing it with an omelette stuffed with greens. Then go hug your pet.

Red Potato Salad with Dill & Mustard
Adapted from Vegetarian Cooking: A Commonsense Guide

6-8 red potatoes
1 tb. wholegrain mustard
1 1/2 tbs. chopped fresh dill
2 tsps. brown sugar
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
1/3 cup olive oil

Boil the potatoes for 20 minutes, or until tender. Drain and leave to cool slightly. When cool enough to handle, cut the potatoes into 1-inch chunks and place in a salad bowl.

Mix the mustard, dill, sugar, and vinegar together in a small bowl. Using a fork, whisk in the olive oil to make a dressing. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Toss the dressing through the warm potatoes and serve.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

